Machu Picchu – Featured Backdrop for Bollywood Movie Kilimanjaro


Aishwarya Rai Indian Actress Bollywood Movie

I came across this on YouTube today.  Thought it was interesting.  Does anyone else here enjoy Bollywood movies as much as I do?  I discovered the Indian version of Hollywood a number of years ago while in High School.  The movies were extremely cheesy and all incorporated dance/music scenes throughout…which made it incredibly entertaining and easy to forget about not always catching everything in the subtitles.

Apparently, they shot a film in 2010 that features Machu Picchu in a song and dance number.  The movie is called Kilimanjaro.  I don’t know the premise of the movie, but I doubt it really had anything to do with Peru considering the name of the film is a mountain in Africa.  I am sure they were just seeking out other “exotic” locations to film, although the dancers are in costumes that resemble what “native” people would wear, they really are just costumes with hints of Inca dress sprinkled about.  Nevertheless, it was pretty neat to see throngs of choreographed dancers on the ancient site, dancing to music…gives a rough idea of what a festival might have looked like up on top of the Machu Picchu 500 years ago.

If nothing else, at least enjoy the dancing from the beautiful actress and the great shots of Machu Picchu without the tourists.  They actually filmed it on a great, clear day!

7 Comments

Filed under Peru, What's New

7 responses to “Machu Picchu – Featured Backdrop for Bollywood Movie Kilimanjaro

  1. I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award today 🙂

  2. I totally spent the last hour looking up Bollywood – I am hooked.

    • I know, right?! LOVE those movies. They are like 2 hours or so, but worth it. Not all of them are so good, but you can always count on a minimum of 3 song/dance numbers in it. In college my mom sent me a care package with a DVD of like 25 hit dance videos from various Bollywood movies. It was great…not sure where it is now, but well worth the stamp to send it to me!

      I am glad I got another person hooked. I don’t know what they say, but I like to use some of the songs as music I use to work out – they have great beats and keep you motivated!

      • They remind me of the movies from the 50s but with better production. Thank you 🙂

      • Hahaha…yes, very true! I think that is why I like them. Reminds me of Ginger Rogers, Fred Astaire type things. They actually have gotten a lot better over the last 7 years. There was stuff I was watching in 2004 that looked like it was from the late 80s. Apparently it was because they were still behind the times and didn’t have the money. But the industry has taken off globally and now their stuff is pretty much up to speed.

        Fun fact: You will never see kissing in the movies. It is taboo, even today. I find that mildly amusing given what the actresses and actors wear in some of the films.

  3. Stunning images of Machu Picchu! They really did have a great day (or more?) to film up there! Spectacular to see all the choreographed dancers in the costumes.

Leave a Reply

