Breaking: Cuy is the Guest of Honor on December 18 in Lima


Guinea Pig/Cuy in Peru

Again, via Facebook at work (I am so glad that social media is part of my job description!), I discovered that the Third Cuy Festival will be happening in Lima on December 18th!  Now, when I read the title, all I read was “This coming 18th of December, Lima will have the Third Guinea Pig Festival…”; that was more than enough to get me hooked, and I clicked the link.  To my surprise (although I am not sure why I still get surprised), the link took me to a page called “Peru, passion for food”.  I was confused.  I thought this was going to be something cute, not murderous!  I should have finished reading the title, “…where more than 20 different dishes will presented using guinea pig meat.”  For those unaware, guinea pig is a common dish in Peru, primarily in the Andes.  Read my previous post if you would like to know more about it.

The article goes on to talk briefly about the reason for eating it and how long it has been used as a food sources, blah blah blah.  But at the end, it mentions that the market demand for the meat has increased beyond the traditional South American countries to also include the USA, Europe and Japan.  Really?  Japan?  They have an anime about guinea pigs…well, hamsters, but still they are related!  How could they eat Hamtaro’s cousins?!  Or ask Jack Scott, from Perking the Pansies, how he would feel eating Benny and Jet!

Hamster Anime from Japan

As I always try to remind myself: When in Rome, do as the Romans!  So, I will check out the festival and see what creative dishes they have created using cuy.  I am hoping that I will at least get a little more than I did from my first try back in February.  If you are interested, you can click here to see the site.  FYI, it is all in Spanish.

3 Comments

Filed under Guinea Pigs, Peru, What's New

3 responses to “Breaking: Cuy is the Guest of Honor on December 18 in Lima

  1. I used to keep guinea pigs when I lived in England (I now live in Jamaica and have never seen one here, strangely!) and the thought of eating one is quite horrific! But it’s a “cultural thing” as they say… By the way, thanks very much for liking my blog post and I hope you will read subsequent ones – follow me, hopefully – the last two on the Jamaican election shenanigans have been somewhat esoteric (except for Jamaicans, of course) but I probably won’t write any more on that topic for a while. Do you live in Peru? I am fascinated by South America, but so far I have only visited Guyana (called a “Caribbean” country) and Brazil…

    • Haha..I know…those poor little guys. I guess anything that is “cute” is always hard to fathom as food, but when way back 1,000 years ago, I am sure they were more concerned with eating than if it was cute or not. I suppose I can see where they are coming from 🙂 At some point, I am going to do another write up about them and how shamans use them; it is a little gruesome/cruel, but very interesting!

      Well, I did take a look at those entries and was a little lost, I will admit! But I will take your advice and see what is to come in the future! 🙂 I do live in Peru, although just since June of this year. I enjoy it but my real goal is to live and work in Brazil. I absolutely love that country and the people. They change the laws and now it is pretty difficult to get in and work, so I am not sure exactly how I am going to do it, but I am not thinking about it and trying to enjoy my time here in Peru. I was in Jamaica only once, on a cruise with my family in 1993 when I was about 7 or 8 years old. I don’t remember much, other than this waterfall that everyone was climbing up and all the vendors trying to peddle their wares on us! haha I would like to get back there, though. Actually, Puerto Rico, Jamaica and Cuba are all on my to do. And Guyana? How did you like that? One year we had a substitute teacher who was from Guyana, and that is the only time I have met/heard anything more about it. Or any of those three…Suriname and French Guyana.

      • I’ve only been to Brazil once and was pretty captivated. It would be a wonderful country to work and live in I am sure, though not without its challenges. But I also find the people think on the right side of their brains – creative minds. I’ve been to Guyana too – a curious place. It’s considered part of the Caribbean and they speak English, but hardly seemed to be at all, to me – with huge Amazonian rivers, the sea a deep brown where the rivers drain into it. And the culture is very different. I met some indigenous people, and felt I was perched between the sea and the huge rainforest. I’d like to explore more of it. But it is a real backwater, frankly – many Guyanese have migrated elsewhere in the Caribbean, including Jamaica, and to the U.S. It has suffered from some awful leaders over the years… Sorry to be late responding to your post. I am trying to catch up with myself and only just read your message!

Leave a Reply

